The Dead Girl

Nick Lynn
6 min readDec 22, 2020

I see a girl standing by the woods every day.

She isn’t real. She can’t be. My mom doesn’t see her. My dad thought I was crazy when I pointed her out to him and my sister didn’t even bother looking; she just insisted I was insane.

But I see a girl standing by the woods. She has curly brown hair that hangs just over her shoulders, bright green eyes, and freckles all over her face. Her sweater is a faded red color and it’s ripped and stained along with her jeans. She stands by the woods outside my house every single day, and no matter where I go she’s always looking at me.

I want to ask why she watches me, but I’m too afraid. I know I’m the only one that can see her which makes it even creepier, but even if everyone else could see her I still wouldn’t want to be the one to go ask her.

I asked my mom if I could see her before my accident, but she said I never mentioned it. Perhaps if I did see her before my accident and my subsequent amnesia I would have an answer to why she watches me, or perhaps who she is, but I don’t.

More than once I’ve lied awake wondering if I knew her, but I’m still too afraid to ask. If I really am the only one who can see her it’s possible she’s from my memories, but if she is then I’m not sure I want to know how I knew her. The way she watches me makes me feel like I did something wrong.

One night my parents go out for a date night while my sister is off with her boyfriend, a man who I apparently liked before but I think I must have…

--

--

Nick Lynn

College student who loves to write stories ❤ she/they